Our Faculty

Gopinathan MP, Dean

Gopinathan is a veteran journalist associated with Mathrubhumi for the past 39 years. He joined Mathrubhumi in the year 1982. From then his contributions to the company have been remarkable and resplendent. Gopinathan was behind the launch and success of many education and information based publications of Mathrubhumi like Thozhilvartha, Mathrubhumi Year Book (English and Malayalam), GK and Current Affairs and also children's publications. Apart from this he has been the editor of nearly 100 books on education, career counselling and career development. He became the Deputy Editor of Mathrubhumi periodicals in the year 2003 and the Editor in charge in 2014. He has edited several special supplements of Mathrubhumi. Under his direction, Mathrubhumi executed several projects for students on language, reasoning and current affairs.

Gopinathan holds postgraduate degrees in two streams of English, Philosophy and MPhil in Philosophy. He is currently pursuing his doctoral dissertation on the aesthetic dimensions of philosophy.

Sandhya PP, Senior Faculty

Sandhya is a senior journalist with seventeen years of experience in Broadcast Journalism. She was associated with leading news channels like Asianet and Media One. She is the recipient of the State Television Award for outstanding television reporting. She was honoured with the Laadli National Media Award for socially responsible journalism. The other prominent awards she received include Laadli South Indian Media Award, Leela Menon Journalism Prize, Surendran Neeleswaram Memorial Award, and Indiwood Excellence Award. This vast industry experience reflects in her method of pedagogy. She is also pursuing her PhD in Cultural Studies at Kerala Kala Mandalam.

Roger Bronson Rozario, Faculty

A Journalism teacher with more than eleven years of experience in Media academics, Roger is a post graduate in Mass Communication and Journalism from Manipal University (Gold medallist). He has passed the UGC-NET examination and has been teaching in premium institutes like Jain University and Kaarunya University. Roger is an expert in media and journalism theory. He has published two research papers in acclaimed journals. He has guided close to thirty Post Graduate Level Research Project Dissertations till date.

Deepa Madathil, Faculty

After completing her MA in Mass Communication from Pondicherry University (Gold medallist), Deepa worked as a broadcast journalist at Asianet News for four years. She was also associated with a leading online portal. Deepa is currently pursuing her MPhil in Journalism at University of Calicut.

Panel of Guest Faculty

V Raveendranath

Executive Editor, Mathrubhumi Daily.

Rajeev Devaraj

Executive Editor Mathrubhumi News. He also worked with Media One, News 18 Kerala and Manorama News.

OR Ramachandran

Executive Editor, Mathrubhumi Online and Periodicals

Manoj K Das

Managing Editor Asianet News. He also worked with Mathrubhumi Daily as Editor, and Resident editor in Times of India.

K Jayakumar IAS

Former Chief Secretary and Vice Chancellor of Malayalam University

KV Mohankumar IAS

Indian writer in Malayalam literature. Chairman of Kerala Food Commission.

George Joseph

Former Superintendent of Police. Expert in crime storytelling.

Adv. Kaleeswaram Raj

Lawyer, Supreme Court of India and High Court of Kerala and Columnist.

N P Rajendran

Former Deputy Editor, Mathrubhumi

D B Binu

District Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Ernakulam

Unni Balakrishnan

Former Chief of News, Mathrubhumi News. Senior Broadcast Journalist who was formerly associated with Asianet News.

B Ramesh Kumar

Senior News Editor, Mathrubhumi, Trivandrum

V Jayakumar

Senior Assistant Editor, Mathrubhumi Periodicals

K A Johny

Assistant Editor, Mathrubhumi Online

Joseph Antony

Chief Sub Editor, Online Desk, Mathrubhumi

Sadhana Sudhakaran

Senior Sub Editor, Mathrubhumi Digital- English

Deepa VM

Independent documentary filmmaker and former journalist with Asianet News. Recipient of significant awards and accolades.

Sajitha Madathil

Actress, activist and former journalist with Kairali TV. Winner of Kerala state film award for second best actress for the film Shutter.

Mohankumar Kallayil

Former Head, Communication Division, C-DIT

Prasanth Reghuvamsom

Chief Coordinating Editor, Asianet News

Mini S Menon

Freelance journalist, writer and an English language trainer.

Biju Pankaj

Coordinating Editor in Mathrubhumi News. Renowned investigative journalist.

Shajan Kumar

Head, Fact Check and Data Visualization, Mathrubhumi

Sunil Prabhakar

An Expert in digital and Mobile Journalism and a Google trainer.

George Joseph

Senior business correspondent who was associated with the Business Standard.


Transgender writer and activist.

Nishad Koya

Scripted hit Malayalam films like Ordinary, Thoppil Joppan, Shikari Sambhu, Polytechnic and produced a film My Santa.

Sudhir Mohan

Engineering Director, WIPRO. An expert in information technology and artificial intelligence.

Biju Bhaskar

Camera chief of Mathrubhumi news and an expert in latest camera operations.

Sujoy Edward

Senior Cameraman and an expert in day to day video news making.

P.K. Jayachandran

News Editor in Mathrubhumi Daily and a Malayalam language expert

Jyothy Karat

Freelance Photojournalist based in Bangalore


Senior Chief photographer, expert in feature photography and feature writer.

Pradeep Kumar

Chief news photographer and feature writer.

Sreekanth Kottakkal

Editor- in-charge of Mathrubhumi Weekend.


Former Programming head of Club FM and also a theatre artist.


Senior legal correspondent in Mathrubhumi News.

Biju Mohan

Technical Expert of Mathrubhumi News and a trainer of Dalet Software.

Babu Prakash Kalathil

Electronics Engineer who trains students in Content Management and Pagination.

Anish R

Producer, MBTV.

Baiju Njeezhoor

Expert in video editing techniques.

Dr. Nithin Kalorth

Faculty, Bennet University, Noida. Expert in Film Studies.

Dr. K C Krishnakumar

Cluster Head, Mathrubhumi Periodicals